As we continue with the Trinity Audio week, we are now about to embark on reviewing the modular Master. Trinity Audio went to the direction of adding a little bit of pizzazz on this IEM by adding a bit more of customization through the included face plates. While some naysayers would say that it really is more of an improvement to the aesthetics of the IEM, it should be fancied by a lot as this allows a bit of distinction to the Master without having to go through buying multiple units just to have that flair of using a different looking one should you get tired of the design you are used to.

When I received my unit, I was kind of elated as I didn’t know it was in the box that I received. The wife just piped up upon seeing it as we were expecting an all PM4/Vyrus V2 package that we got, so naturally I got excited upon seeing it. I was working that time when the missus told me about it, and to be honest I got a bit thrilled going home upon seeing that there was a hidden gem in the package that I got.

As I hit the door that day, it was expected that I immediately picked it up and marveled at the beauty that is Master. It did look a bit unusual, with a bit of sharp edges on what seemingly is molded to a typical ear lobe, but I did like the unique approach on the IEM. With hands shaking, I pried the box open and held on my hands what is one of the higher end multi-driver IEM from TA.

So, allow me to go through the experience once the box was opened.

Build

First thing that got to my mind upon holding the Master was the premium feel. This definitely doesn’t feel nor look like those so many IEMs coming out of the market where this shaping convention is quite prevalent. While the others did look like it was contoured to a person’s ears, this one was built with polished zinc alloy shells, which definitely sets the Master from those IEMs. The shells look pretty durable to me, so I guess if anyone wishes to keep an IEM for a long time, the Master should be a serious consideration.

trinity_audio_master_earpiece

However, one thing that TA decided to forego is the detachable 2-pin terminated cables. Master now carries a directly wired earpieces which means modded cables will no longer be possible unlike how Master 4 was. However, TA decided to go for a detachable cable from the splitter, which allows you to choose between the stock 3.5mm TRS cable or the included 3.5mm TRRS terminated cable for your balanced option. Pretty good, I will say, as I am such a sucker for balanced connection. This will also serve as a termination option for the planned 24bit DAC by TA so this should be a solid option.

trinity_audio_master_cablesplitter

As mentioned earlier, TA decided to add a little bit of flair to the Master by adding optional face plates, which I must say is a great bonus to the Master packaging. This allows a slight customization option and allows a bit of fun to the DIY-oriented audio enthusiasts or even casual listeners. Package comes with the default carbon fibre plate and additional pairs of blue and red face plates to allow some modification to the color scheme of the Master. I personally preferred having a red face plate on the right earpiece and a blue one on the left, making it a lot easier to identify which earpiece goes to which ear.

trinity_audio_master_faceplate

Filters are coded pretty much the same as the Master 6, Vyrus V2 and Hunter, as with the quantity of available filters in the packaging.

trinity_audio_master_filters1

Here’s a quick guide on the tuning filters and what each color stands for:

filter definition

Apart from these, you pretty much get a really decent contents on the Master: eartips of varied sizes and make, shirt clip and 3.5mm-6.3mm adapter. As a whole, the contents of the package is definitely worth more than its market SRP of 159 GBP.

trinity_audio_master_package2

Comfort-wise, I will say that TA did put some thought on the design of the earpieces. As much as it may feel and look hefty, TA still managed to pull some strings in making it really comfortable. Perhaps then only con I can see is when putting the earpieces on after storing it in a cool place; some people might feel a little bit iffy with the touch of cold Zinc alloy on the earlobes. Other than that, Master is pretty much a very comfortable IEM.

Sound

As far as the sound is concerned, I will still have to say that there are certain advantages if one would choose the Master 6 over the Master. Primarily, the details delivered by Master 6 is quite tough to top, but I think the advantage of the Master is the option to go for easy listening as the Master sound more musical compared to Master 6. Tweaking around the tuning filters revealed how nice the green filters go with the Master, but that is just me, given my affinity to some mid range emphasis.

To demonstrate further, I will be using the Master again with my trusty Onkyo DP-X1.

But Not Tonight (Scott Weiland, Not Another Teen Movie Original Soundtrack)

The highs seems to be a bit short for me using the green tuning filters, however, I pretty much liked how Weiland’s voice was presented by the Master. Low ends sounded quite smooth, with the sub-bass rumbling velvety. Details are quite excellent, the Master is tuned in such a way to be very musical yet allows that ample detail to be enjoyed without getting compelled to be analytical.

Message In A Bottle (The Police, Regatta de Blanc)

The bassline on the track sounded immersive, rumbling softly yet smoothly while Sting belts out with his typical raspy voice as presented well by the Master. Guitars seems to accentuate the track more rather than front the melody, while mid-bass brought by the drums sounded tight enough.

Whole Lotta Love (Santana feat. Chris Cornell, Guitar Heaven: The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time)

The guitars are as raunchy as you would expect it to be while Cornell’s voice was justified by the Master. Imaging is superb, instrument positioning is quite surprisingly good. Bass is indeed layered well, with the punches tight and firm while the sub-bass are solid. Details are presented quite well, allowing you to hear things that you may have not heard before on the track. Soundstage is quite wide enough for an IEM, but perhaps the thing I enjoyed most is the riffs and solos of Santana himself.

One thing I would like to highlight is the imaging. As much as the Master 6 may seem better on this department, I still enjoyed how each instruments are separated in proper manner without losing coherence as you listen to the tracks.

Wrap-Up

I must say that Trinity Audio did it again. The Master works so well with tracks with a lot of instruments, as I have heard when I humored myself with the Imperial March from Star Wars. Details are quite immense but does not trigger me to go analytical as I tried to refrain from doing so.

With the price tag, I must say that the Master is very much worth it. It is not everyday you come across a four driver hybrid IEM (2BA+2 Out of Phase DD) that can perform so well with such coherence. Is it worth the buy? Definitely. Only warning is that you might get a bit too hooked up with the Master, which is not exactly a bad thing.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.